Fishing

Lakes


Bemidji area fisheries

Minnesota map showing Bemidji location

2114 Bemidji Avenue
Bemidji, MN 56601
218-308-2339
bemidji.fisheries@state.mn.us

Anglers who fish in Beltrami, Clearwater, northern Cass, and northern Hubbard county area benefit from the management, habitat and oversight work of the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources' Bemidji area fisheries staff.

Area Fisheries Supervisor Gary Barnard and a staff of five full-time and twLicense Dollars At Worko part-time employees manage 113 fishing lakes and 220 miles of rivers and streams, including popular fishing destinations such as the Upper Red Lake, Cass Lake, Lake Bemidji and Itasca State Park Lakes.

  • What we do
  • Area highlights
  • Area staff

At work for you

Bemidji fisheries staff conduct a winter creel survey on Upper Red Lake.  Information obtained from a creel survey is used to estimate fishing pressure, total harvest and the size composition of the harvest.  Harvest information complements the fish population data needed to properly manage fisheries.

Bemidji fisheries staff conduct a winter creel survey on Upper Red Lake. Information obtained from a creel survey is used to estimate fishing pressure, total harvest and the size composition of the harvest. Harvest information complements the fish population data needed to properly manage fisheries.

  • Conducting surveys annually on two of Minnesota's 10 largest natural walleye lakes – Upper Red and Cass.
  • Completing annual year-round creel surveys on Upper Red Lake. This vital information is used to set harvest regulations for this important and popular fishery.
  • Conducting fish population assessments on 12-18 lakes and specialized sampling on another 15-20 lakes annually for assessing specific management activities or evaluation of experimental fishing regulations.
  • Managing stream trout populations (rainbow, brown and brook trout) in four lakes and four streams, including providing disability access on the Clearwater River.
  • Sustaining one of Minnesota's premier native muskellunge fisheries in the Cass Lake Chain; restoration and enhancement of native muskellunge fisheries on Bemidji and Big lakes; muskellunge spawn-taking for statewide production; and rearing pond operation for muskellunge fingerling production.
  • Operating a walleye spawn-taking operation, a seasonal walleye hatchery and 20-30 walleye fingerling production ponds.

Contact our Bemidji staff

Name
Position
Phone
Email
Gary Barnard Area supervisor 218-308-2339 gary.barnard@state.mn.us
Andy Thompson Assistant area supervisor 218-308-2339 andy.thompson@state.mn.us
Andrew Wiering Fisheries specialist 218-308-2339 andrew.wiering@state.mn.us
Tony Kennedy Large lake specialist 218-308-2339 tony.kennedy@state.mn.us
Tony Standera Fisheries specialist 218-308-2339 tony.standera@state.mn.us
Brain Herwig Research specialist 218-308-2339 brian.herwig@state.mn.us
Robert Ekstrom Aquatic habitat specialist 218-308-2339 robert.ekstrom@state.mn.us