Classes of falconers

All permittees must comply with all local, state and federal rules and regulations governing falconry.

The following is a brief summary of the falconry regulations. For complete falconry laws, consult Minnesota Rules Chapters 6234.0800, Chapter 6238 and Federal Statutes 50-CRF 21.28, 50-CRF 21.29.

Apprentice Class

  • Must be at least 14 years old.
  • Must have reasonable knowledge and skills in handling and caring of raptors.
  • Must have a sponsor that is a Class II (General) or a Class I (Master) falconry permit holder.
  • May possess only one raptor, either a passage American kestrel or a passage red-tailed hawk and which must be taken from the wild.
  • May obtain only one raptor for a replacement bird during any 12- month period.

General Class

  • Must be at least 18 years old.
  • Requires a minimum of two years of experience as an apprentice class permit holder.
  • May not take, transport, or possess any owls or any species listed as threatened or endangered.
  • May possess two raptors.
  • May take only two raptors for replacement birds during any 12- month period.
  • May take eyas (young raptors not capable of sustained flight) from the nest.

Master Class

  • Requires a minimum of five year's as a General class permit holder.
  • May not take any species listed as endangered.
  • May possess three raptors.
  • May take one raptor listed as threatened in any 12-month period, as a part of the three-bird limit, under applicable rules.
  • May take two raptors from the wild for replacement birds during any 12-month period.
  • May take, transport, and possess a Golden eagle for falconry if authorized by the DNR and the U. S. Fish & Wildlife Service in writing.
  • May take eyas (young raptors not capable of sustained flight) from the nest.

Requirements common to all permit classes

The following is a brief summary of the falconry regulations. For complete falconry laws, consult Minnesota Rules Chapters 6234.0800, Chapter 6238 and Federal Statutes 50-CRF 21.28, 50-CRF 21.29.

Reporting and marking of falcons

All raptors taken, possessed, or transported for falconry must be banded. Captive-bred raptors must be banded with a numbered, seamless band provided by the U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service. Raptors taken from the wild must be banded with a permanent, nonreusable band provided by the DNR.

All acquisitions of raptors or loss or removal of any band must be reported within ten working days by submitting a Federal Form 3-186A.

If the United States Fish and Wildlife Service band affixed to a raptor becomes illegible, the owner must notify the DNR.

Record Keeping

All permittees are required to keep complete and up to date records on forms provided by the DNR and U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service.