Statewide Planning Level is 2.

The National Preparedness Level is 3.

July 18, 2018

At this time, MNICS resources are assigned to incidents in Arizona, Colorado, Idaho, Michigan, Montana, Nevada, Oregon, Texas, Utah, Washington State, Wisconsin and Wyoming. Included are personnel, air resources, engines and crews.

  • MNCC Interagency Type 2 IA crew #2 (21 person) is assigned to BIA Longterm Severity in Colorado.
    • The crew is assigned to the Southern Ute Agency.
  • A MNCC Interagency Type 2 IA crew is working in Ontario under the Great Lakes Forest Fire Compact (GLFFC).

Burning permits:

All Minnesota counties require burning permits, but will enforce burning restrictions as conditions require.

No DNR areas are currently enforcing burning restrictions.

MNICS officials urge the public to check the DNR burning restrictions and fire danger website before cleaning up residences, properties or cabin yard areas. Fines result in burning without a permit or when restrictions are in place. More importantly, public and firefighter safety is of utmost concern. Officials advise residents to call 911 and to not to attempt fire suppression on their own.

Check the links below for details.

Daily Fire Danger and Burning Restrictions Maps

Refer to the Burning Permits website or contact your local DNR office or Sheriff's Office for updated information concerning burning permits.

The DNR advises anyone doing burning to keep burn piles small, have a water supply nearby, and stay with the fire until it is completely out.  If the fire escapes, the homeowner is responsible for the damage and suppression costs.

The current US Drought Monitor Map of MN.

Be Safe with Campfires

The DNR suggests following these steps to build a safe campfire:

  • Clear the campfire site down to bare soil
    • The area should be clear of any combustible material 5 feet in all directions around the fire.
  • Build a small fire no more than 3 feet in diameter
    • The fire should be contained within a designated fire ring which is 3 feet or less in diameter and 3 feet or less in height.
    • To build one, scoop out a depression in the center of a cleared area and arrange a ring of rocks around it.
  • Have a bucket of water and a shovel near the campfire
  • Put out the campfire by drowning it with water, stirring it and drowning it again

Be careful with gas lanterns, barbecue grills, gas stoves and anything that can start a wildfire.