Fargo-Moorhead Metropolitan Area Flood Risk Management Project - Task Force

Minnesota Governor Dayton and North Dakota Governor Burgum have called together a joint task force to propose the framework for flood risk management for the Fargo-Moorhead region. The two Governors will co-chair the task force.

The task force is to develop design principles and concept-level engineering solutions to achieve balanced flood risk management for the Fargo-Moorhead region, including up- and downstream communities and properties.

Final Report

Report Appendix

Appendix A

Appendix B

Appendix C





December 11, 2017

November 29, 2017

November 28, 2017 - Technical Advisory Group

November 14, 2017 - Technical Advisory Group

November 13, 2017

November 1, 2017

October 23, 2017

Task Force Members

Members from each state represent the upstream, downstream and city interests.


North Dakota

  • Co-chair, Minnesota Governor Mark Dayton
  • Del Rae Williams, Moorhead Mayor
  • Heidi Durand, Moorhead City Council Member
  • Joel Paulsen, Moorhead City Council Member
  • Jenny Mongeau, Clay County Commissioner
  • Tim Fox, Former Wilkin County Attorney
  • Mark Anderson, Treasurer of Buffalo-Red River Watershed District
  • Curt Johannsen, Hendrum Mayor
  • Steve Jacobson, Norman County Commissioner
  • Co-chair, North Dakota Governor Doug Burgum
  • Jason Benson, Cass County Engineer
  • Ron Bergan, Fargo Business Leader and Entrepreneur
  • Nathan Berseth, Richland County Commissioner
  • Bernie Dardis, Greater North Dakota Chamber Board Chairman
  • Craig Hertsgaard, Richland County Farmer
  • Tami Norgard, Natural Resources Attorney
  • John Strand, Fargo City Commissioner
  • Ken Vein, Grand Forks City Council Member