CWD deer recreational feeding ban

Not feeding helps stop disease, protects deer in other ways

Map showing the five southeastern Minnesota counties - Fillmore, Houstan, Mower, Olmsted and Winona - where deer feeding is not allowed.

A deer feeding ban goes into effect later in December 2016 for residents of Fillmore, Houston, Mower, Olmsted and Winona counties.

These counties adjoin the area west of Lanesboro where two CWD-infected deer recently were discovered.

The feeding ban encompasses a wider area because the potential extent of the infection is not known and one of the most probable mechanisms for CWD spread among deer is over a food source that concentrates animals and allows close contact.

Not feeding deer is a simple step that anyone can take to help prevent the spread of disease. Although well-intentioned, learn why feeding deer causes other problems, too.

Complete details & restrictions