Regional Prescribed Fire Committees

Regional Prescribed Burn Committees are work teams that help to facilitate and coordinate prescribed burning occurring in their respective Regions. Each committee is comprised of Divisional representatives with a vested interest in prescribed burning in the region. Committee members may not necessarily be regional staff.

Responsibilities of the Regional Prescribed Burn Committees include:

  1. Coordinate prescribed burning in the region, prioritize those of higher complexity that compete for resources.
  2. Maintain a regional list of prescribed burn resources, contact numbers and qualified persons to better coordinate and share resources among the prescribed burners in the region.
  3. Coordinate and advance the science of prescribed burning and monitoring.
  4. Serve as contacts for the Regional Fire Team Leader on the availability of personnel and equipment from all divisions for suppression during periods of very high to extreme fire danger.
  5. Coordinate any interdivisional regional burn teams that may be initiated within a region.
  6. Actively enhance communication and coordination between divisions and agencies on prescribed burning
  7. Initiate, coordinate and implement escaped burn reviews.
  8. Review regional prescribed burn accomplishments annually.

 

Committee Members by Region

Northwest Region Prescribed Burn Committee

Shelley Becklund
DNR Ecological Resources
1509 First Avenue N
Fergus Falls MN 56537
218-739-7576 ext 262
218-739-7601 (fax)
shelly.becklund@state.mn.us

John Williams
DNR Wildlife
2115 Birchmont Beach Road NE
Bemidji MN 56601
218-308-2680
218-755-3181 (fax)
john.williams@state.mn.us

Chris Weir-Koetter
DNR Parks
2115 Birchmont Beach Road NE
Bemidji MN 56601
218-308-2679
218-755-4024 (fax)
chris.weir-koetter@state.mn.us

William Glesener
2115 Birchmont Beach Road NE
Bemidji MN 56601
218.308.2364
Bill.glesener@state.mn.us


Northeast Region Prescribed Burn Committee

Steve Wilson
DNR Ecological Resources
650 Hwy 169
Tower, MN 55790
218-753-2580 x 270
218-753-2581 fax
steve.wilson@state.mn.us

Jeff Lightfoot, Chair
DNR Wildlife
1201 E. Hwy 2
Grand Rapids, MN 55744
218-327-4413
218-327-4263 fax
jeff.lightfoot@state.mn.us

Tavis Westbrook
DNR Parks & Trails
1201 East Hwy 2, Grand Rapids, MN  55744
218-327-4104
tavis.westbrook@state.mn.us

 


Central Region Prescribed Burn Committee

Vacant

Mark Wurdeman
DNR Forestry
800 Oak Savanna Lane
Cambridge, MN 55008 763.689.7100x230 Mark.wurdeman@state.mn.us

Mark Cleveland
DNR Parks and Recreation
1200 Warner Road
St. Paul MN 55106
651-259-5746
651-772-7977 fax
Mark.Cleveland@state.mn.us

Trygve Hanson
DNR Trails and Waterways
940 Industrial Drive S.
Sauk Rapids, MN 56379
320-223-7862
trygve.hanson@state.mn.us

Tod Tonsager
DNR Wildlife
16543 Haven Road
Little Falls, MN 56345
320-616-2450
320-616-2473 (fax)
tod.tonsager@state.mn.us

 

Southern Region Prescribed Burn Committee

Bill Dinesen
DNR Parks and Trails
1897 Camden Park Road
Lynd, MN 56157
507-865-4530
bill.dinesen@state.mn.us

Tom Romaine
DNR Forestry
P.O. Box 607
New Ulm, MN 56073-0607
tel. 507-359-6048
fax. 507-359-6056 FAX
tom.romaine@state.mn.us

Dave Trauba
DNR Fish and Wildlife
14047 20th St NW
Watson, MN 56295
320-734-4451
david.trauba@state.mn.us

Brad Bolduan
DNR Ecological and Water Resources
175 County Rd 26
Windom, MN 56101
507-831-2900
brad.bolduan@state.mn.us