Regional Prescribed Fire Committees

Regional Prescribed Burn Committees are work teams that help to facilitate and coordinate prescribed burning occurring in their respective Regions. Each committee is comprised of Divisional representatives with a vested interest in prescribed burning in the region. Committee members may not necessarily be regional staff.

Responsibilities of the Regional Prescribed Burn Committees include:

  1. Coordinate prescribed burning in the region, prioritize those of higher complexity that compete for resources.
  2. Maintain a regional list of prescribed burn resources, contact numbers and qualified persons to better coordinate and share resources among the prescribed burners in the region.
  3. Coordinate and advance the science of prescribed burning and monitoring.
  4. Serve as contacts for the Regional Fire Team Leader on the availability of personnel and equipment from all divisions for suppression during periods of very high to extreme fire danger.
  5. Coordinate any interdivisional regional burn teams that may be initiated within a region.
  6. Actively enhance communication and coordination between divisions and agencies on prescribed burning
  7. Initiate, coordinate and implement escaped burn reviews.
  8. Review regional prescribed burn accomplishments annually.

Northwest Region Prescribed Burn Committee


Cindy Lueth
DNR Parks, Regional Resource Specialist
3296 State Park Rd NE
Bemidji MN 56601
218-755-4024 (fax)
[email protected]

Nicholas Snavely
Fergus Falls Area Wildlife Supervisor
1509 First Ave. N.
Fergus Falls, MN 56537
[email protected]


Tyler Larson
DNR EcoWaters, SNA Management Specialist
1509 N. 1st Ave.
Fergus Falls, MN 56537
[email protected]

Blair Olson
DNR Forestry, Region Fire Specialist
2115 Birchmont Beach Road NE
Bemidji MN 56601
[email protected]

Northeast Region Prescribed Burn Committee

Russell Reisz
DNR Fish and Wildlife, Aitkin Area Wildlife Manager
1200 Minnesota Ave. S
Aitkin MN 56431
[email protected]

Arika Preas
SNA Naturalist, EWR
7979 Hwy 37
Eveleth, MN 55734
[email protected]

Cathy Handrick
DNR Parks & Trails, Regional Resource Specialist
1201 East Hwy 2, Grand Rapids, MN 55744
[email protected]

Jon Handrick
DNR Forestry, Regional Resource Specialist
1201 East Hwy 2, Grand Rapids, MN 55744
[email protected]

Central Region Prescribed Burn Committee

Anton Benson
DNR Parks and Trails, Regional Resource Specialist
1200 Warner Road
St. Paul MN 55106
[email protected]

Jeff Wilson
DNR Ecological and Waters Resources, Natural Resources Technician
1200 Warner Rd
Saint Paul MN 55106
[email protected]

Kevin Berens
DNR Fish and Wildlife, Roving Crew Supervisor
15325 Babcock Ave E
Rosemount MN 55068
[email protected]

Jim Wilson
DNR Forestry, Regional Specialist-Fire
1200 Warner Road
Saint Paul, MN 55106
[email protected]

Southern Region Prescribed Burn Committee

Walt Gessler
DNR Wildlife, Area Wildlife Supervisor
Lac Qui Parle WMA
14047 20th St. NW
Watson, MN 56295
[email protected]

Jake Froyum
DNR Forestry, Assistant Supervisor
1810 30th St. NW
Faribault, MN 55021
Phone: 507-497-1350
[email protected]


Molly Tranel Nelson
DNR Parks and Trails, Regional Resource Specialist
21371 St. Hwy. 15
New Ulm, MN 56073
[email protected]

Brad Bolduan
DNR Ecological and Water Resources
175 County Rd 26
Windom, MN 56101
[email protected]

Back to top