Minnesota Biological Survey Staff

Plant Surveys:

Plant Ecologists conduct surveys of native plant communities and evaluate
sites with native vegetation.
Botanists conduct surveys for rare plant species within targeted counties or
ecological units.

MCBS Supervisor Phone Email  

Converse, Carmen

651-259-5083

carmen.converse@state.mn.us

 
Staff Title Phone Email Current focus of field work

Aaseng, Norm

Plant Ecologist/Botanist

651-259-5069

norm.aaseng@state.mn.us

Northern Minnesota

Anderson, Chel

Plant Ecologist/Botanist

218-475-0147

chel.anderson@state.mn.us

Border Lakes Subsection

Anderson, Derek

Plant Ecologist/Botanist

651-259-5071

derek.anderson@state.mn.us

Statewide

Gerdes, Lawson

Ecologist/Northern Coordinator

218-365-7132

lawson.gerdes@state.mn.us

Border Lakes Subsection

Gerdes, Lynden

Plant Ecologist/Botanist

218-365-7132

lynden.gerdes@state.mn.us

Border Lakes Subsection

Harris, Fred

Plant Ecologist/Botanist

651-259-5084

fred.harris@state.mn.us

Lac Qui Parle Prairie, Northwestern MN

Holmstrom, Rebecca

Plant Ecologist/Botanist

218-723-4763

rebecca.holmstrom@state.mn.us

Nashwauk Uplands

Johnson, Jason

Plant Ecologist/Botanist

651-259-5150

jason.johnson@state.mn.us

Border Lakes Subsection

Kerns, Courtney

Plant Ecologist/Botanist

218-322-2520

courtney.kerns@state.mn.us

Northern Minnesota

Lee, Jeff

Plant Ecologist/Botanist

218-723-4763
ext 227

jeffrey.lee@state.mn.us

Northern Minnesota

Lee, Michael

Plant Ecologist/Botanist

320-223-7849

michael.lee@state.mn.us

Border Lakes Subsection

Myhre, Karen

Aquatic Botanist

218-927-3684

karen.myhre@state.mn.us

Northern Minnesota

Perry, Ethan

Plant Ecologist/Botanist

218-723-4763
ext. 226

ethan.perry@state.mn.us

Tamarack Lowlands

Rowe, Erika

Plant Ecologist/Botanist

651-259-5134

erika.rowe@state.mn.us

Koochiching, Lake of the Woods counties

Ruby, Janeen

Plant Ecologist/Botanist

651-304-0955

janeen.ruby@state.mn.us

Southwestern Minnesota

Sather, Nancy

Plant Ecologist/Botanist

651-259-5136

nancy.sather@state.mn.us

Northwestern

Minnesota

Smith, Welby

Botanist

651-259-5142

welby.smith@state.mn.us

Southeastern MN

Wovcha, Dan

Plant Ecologist/Botanist

651-259-5154

daniel.wovcha@state.mn.us

 

Animal Surveys:

Zoologists conduct surveys for rare animals within targeted counties or ecological units; animal groups (and the specialists that work with them) include mammals (mammalogists), birds (ornithologists), amphibians and reptiles (herpetologists), fishes (ichthyologists), and insects (entomologists).

Staff Title Phone Email Current focus of field work

Nordquist, Gerda

Animal Survey Supervisor/Mammalogist

651-259-5124

gerda.nordquist@state.mn.us

Statewide

Boyd, Crystal

Entomologist

651-259-5699

crystal.boyd@state.mn.us

Statewide

Dana, Robert

Entomologist

651-259-5086

robert.dana@state.mn.us

Prairie Region

Hall, Carol

Herpetologist

651-259-5099

carol.hall@state.mn.us

Statewide

LeClere, Jeff

Zoologist–amphibians, reptiles

651-259-5161

jeff.leclere@state.mn.us

Statewide

Spak, Christi

Zoologist–all groups

651-259-5145

christi.spak@state.mn.us

Border Lakes Subsection

Stucker, Steve

Ornithologist

651-259-5103

steve.stucker@state.mn.us

Border Lakes Subsection

Support Staff:

GIS Support Specialist facilitates the mapping of data within a Geographic Information System
Information Officer conceptualizes and coordinates the graphical representation of field and biological data

Staff Title Phone Email

Cruz, Jared

GIS Support Specialist

651-259-5093

jared.cruz@state.mn.us

 

Klein, Tom

Information Officer/Graphic Artist

651-259-5112

tom.r.klein@state.mn.us