Minnesota Biological Survey Staff

MBS Supervisor Phone Email

Bruce Carlson

651-259-5083

bruce.carlson@state.mn.us

Plant Surveys: Plant Ecologists conduct surveys of native plant communities and evaluate sites with native vegetation. Botanists conduct surveys for rare plant species within targeted counties or ecological units.
Staff Title Phone Email Current focus of field work

Hannah Texler

Plant Ecology Supervisor

651-259-5083

hannah.texler@state.mn.us

Statewide

Aaseng, Norm

Plant Ecologist/Botanist

651-259-5069

norm.aaseng@state.mn.us

Northern Minnesota

Anderson, Chel

Plant Ecologist/Botanist

218-475-0147

chel.anderson@state.mn.us

Border Lakes Subsection

Anderson, Derek

Plant Ecologist/Botanist

651-259-5071

derek.anderson@state.mn.us

Prairie Region

Gerdes, Lawson

Ecologist/Northern Coordinator

218-365-7132

lawson.gerdes@state.mn.us

Border Lakes Subsection

Gerdes, Lynden

Plant Ecologist/Botanist

218-365-7132

lynden.gerdes@state.mn.us

Border Lakes Subsection

Graham, Dustin

Plant Ecologist/Botanist

651-259-5640

dustin.graham@state.mn.us

Prairie Region

Harris, Fred

Plant Ecologist/Botanist

651-259-5084

fred.harris@state.mn.us

Lac Qui Parle Prairie, Northwestern MN

Holmstrom, Rebecca

Plant Ecologist/Botanist

218-723-4763

rebecca.holmstrom@state.mn.us

St. Louis County portions of Littlefork-Vermilion Uplands, Borderlakes Subsections

Johnson, Jason

Plant Ecologist/Botanist

651-259-5150

jason.johnson@state.mn.us

Border Lakes Subsection

Kerns, Courtney

Plant Ecologist/Botanist

218-322-2520

courtney.kerns@state.mn.us

Northern Minnesota

Lee, Jeff

Plant Ecologist/Botanist

218-723-4763
ext 227

jeffrey.lee@state.mn.us

Border Lakes Subsection

Lee, Michael

Plant Ecologist/Botanist

320-223-7849

michael.lee@state.mn.us

Border Lakes Subsection

Myhre, Karen

Aquatic Botanist

218-927-3684

karen.myhre@state.mn.us

Northern Minnesota

Perry, Ethan

Plant Ecologist/Botanist

218-723-4763
ext. 226

ethan.perry@state.mn.us

Tamarack Lowlands

Rowe, Erika

Plant Ecologist/Botanist

651-259-5134

erika.rowe@state.mn.us

Koochiching, Lake of the Woods counties

Sather, Nancy

Plant Ecologist/Botanist

651-259-5136

nancy.sather@state.mn.us

Northwestern

Minnesota

Smith, Welby

Botanist

651-259-5142

welby.smith@state.mn.us

Southeastern MN

Wovcha, Dan

Plant Ecologist/Botanist

651-259-5154

daniel.wovcha@state.mn.us

 
Animal Surveys: Zoologists conduct surveys for rare animals within targeted counties or ecological units; animal groups (and the specialists that work with them) include mammals (mammalogists), birds (ornithologists), amphibians and reptiles (herpetologists), fishes (ichthyologists), and insects (entomologists).
Staff Title Phone Email Current focus of field work

Nordquist, Gerda

Animal Survey Supervisor/Mammalogist

651-259-5124

gerda.nordquist@state.mn.us

Statewide

Boyd, Crystal

Entomologist/Bee Specialist

651-259-5699

crystal.boyd@state.mn.us

Statewide

Dana, Robert

Entomologist/Prairie Ecologist

651-259-5086

robert.dana@state.mn.us

Prairie Region

Dunlap, Bob

Zoologist/Data Specialist

651-259-5141

bob.dunlap@state.mn.us

Statewide

Edwards, Margaret

Zoologist/Data Specialist

651-259-5128

margaret.r.edwards@state.mn.us

Statewide

Gillen-Ashling, Jenn

Zoologist/Data Assistant

651-259-5163

jenn.gillen@state.mn.us

Statewide

Hall, Carol

Herpetologist

651-259-5099

carol.hall@state.mn.us

Statewide

LeClere, Jeff

Zoologist/Amphibian and Reptile Specialist

651-259-5161

jeff.leclere@state.mn.us

Statewide

Spak, Christi

Zoologist/Mammal Specialist

651-259-5145

christi.spak@state.mn.us

Statewide

Stoltzfus, Amanda

Zoologist/Lepidoptera Specialist

 

amanda.stoltzfus@state.mn.us

Statewide

Stucker, Steve

Ornithologist

651-259-5103

steve.stucker@state.mn.us

Statewide

Support Staff:

GIS Support Specialist facilitates the mapping of data within a Geographic Information System
Information Officer conceptualizes and coordinates the graphical representation of field and biological data

Staff Title Phone Email

Richardson, Bart

GIS Support Specialist

651-259-5796

bart.richardson@state.mn.us

 

Klein, Tom

Information Officer/Graphic Artist

651-259-5112

tom.klein@state.mn.us