Minnesota's Lake Superior Coastal Program

Minnesota's Coastal Program Grants

Every year, the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources (MNDNR) offers grants to help communities, agencies, and organizations solve issues that impact Lake Superior and its coast.  We provide two types of grants:

MNDNR awards the grant funds through a competitive process.  Funding comes from the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA).  MNDNR will distribute funds on a reimbursement basis (after costs have been incurred).

Since 2001, the MNDNR has awarded more than $12.5 million for coastal program projects.

What type of project could I do with a grant?

Your project must be located in Minnesota’s coastal area, be action-oriented, and align with one of the following goals (of the national Coastal Zone Management Act):

What activities are ineligible for grant funds?

Which entities are eligible to receive a grant?

Are you accepting applications?

We are accepting STAR applications.


We are not currently accepting applications.

If you are applying for funds for a construction or land acquisition project, please review the NOAA Section 306A Guidance as you will be responsible for completing the required documentation.


We are currently accepting applications for STAR Grants.

Activities that involve moving dirt or destroying vegetation are not eligible for STAR Grant funds.  For example, you cannot erect signs, plant plants, pull invasive species, or build boardwalks or trails.

Who can I contact if I have questions?

You can direct your questions to Amber Westerbur, Program Manager at 218-834-1445 or MLSCP.DNR@state.mn.us.

Resources for Grantees