DNR Roundtable: collaboration for conservation

Roundtable participants gather to discuss issues

The Minnesota Department of Natural Resources hosts its annual Roundtable event each January. For the past 30 years, the DNR has invited individuals, organizations, and government representatives interested in fisheries, wildlife, and ecological and water resources to come together and discuss important issues related to those resources. Recent Roundtables have attracted more than 300 people annually. Attendance is limited due to space considerations and staff capacity to engage with participants.

Important Update on 2022 DNR Roundtable

While long-time DNR Roundtable attendees and staff are accustomed to the event being held in January, we are going to do things a little differently in 2022. Although we had hoped to return to an in-person event this January, the ongoing challenges of COVID-19 and the emerging Omicron variant make it imprudent to host a large gathering at this time. In response, the 2022 Roundtable will be rescheduled for late spring or early summer in the hopes of having a better opportunity for some level of an in-person event. This change reflects feedback from participants who really value the in-person opportunities that Roundtable offers.

While we are disappointed by the delay, the additional time gives us an opportunity to hear from partners about how we can continue to improve and evolve Roundtable, while still preserving the original spirit, intent, and values of the event. The project team will hold a Roundtable focus group in January to gather this feedback. This Roundtable webpage will include updates as plans take shape.

Videos of the 2021 Roundtable

  • Roundtable Opening Plenary, with Opening Remarks by Commissioner Sarah Strommen. 32 mins.
  • Keynote Panel Presentations, with Panelists Preston Cole, Cathy Chavers, J. Drew Lanham, Alora Jones, and Veronica Jaralambides. 1 hr 36 mins.
  • Keynote Panel Q & A, with Panelists Preston Cole, Cathy Chavers, J. Drew Lanham, Alora Jones, and Veronica Jaralambides. 44 mins.
  • Concurrent Track 1.1 Fisheries Resource Highlights, presenters Dave Olfelt and Brad Parsons. 29 mins.
  • Concurrent Track 1.2 Fisheries Research: Deepening the Science, presenter Heidi Rantala. 27 mins.
  • Concurrent Track 1.3 Panfish Limits and Angler Behavior, presenters Jeff Reed and Scott Mackenthun. 29 mins.
  • Concurrent Track 1.4 Improving Fish Habitat Through Culvert and Dam Redesign, presenters Jamison Wendel and Pat Brown. 30 mins.
  • Concurrent Track 2.1 Wildlife Resource Highlights, presenters Pat Rivers and Mike Larson. 28 mins.
  • Concurrent Track 2.2 Wildlife Research: Deepening the Science, presenters Michelle Carstensen, Adam Landon, Lindsey Shartell, Nicole Davros, and Bruce Davis. 27 mins.
  • Concurrent Track 2.3 Ensuring Equitable Access to Wildlife Management Areas, presenters Jami Markle, Liz Scherber, Bruce Anderson, and Dave Trauba. 29 mins.
  • Concurrent Track 2.4 Enhancing Public Engagement in Wildlife Planning, presenters Dan Stark and Kelly Wilder. 28 mins.
  • Concurrent Track 3.1 Ecological and Water Resource Highlights, presenter Ann Pierce. 30 mins.
  • Concurrent Track 3.2 Ecological Research: Deepening the Science, presenters Fred Harris and Bernard Sietman. 26 mins.
  • Concurrent Track 3.3 Climate Change and Watershed Resilience in Southern Minnesota, presenters Kenny Blumenfeld and Brooke Hacker. 30 mins.
  • Concurrent Track 3.4 The Challenges We Face in Conserving the Monarch Butterfly, presenters Alan Ritchie and Chris Smith. 25 mins.
  • Concurrent Track 4.1 Keynote Panel - A Continued Discussion, presenters Cathy Chavers, J. Drew Lanham, Alora Jones and Veronica Jaralambides. 31 mins.
  • Concurrent Track 4.2 Climate Change and Hunting, Fishing, and Gathering, presenters Kelly Applegate and Phil Talmage. 27 mins.
  • Concurrent Track 4.3 Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion: Exploring How DNR is Connecting, presenters Rowzat Shipchandler and Ray Ruiz. 29 mins.
  • Concurrent Track 4.4 Evolving Outdoor Use and Learnings for Recreation Managers, presenters Jamie McBride, Darin Newman, James Burnham, and Luke Skinner. 31 mins.
  • Roundtable Closing Plenary, with Commissioner Sarah Strommen, Deputy Commissioner Barb Naramore, Assistant Commissioners Shannon Lotthammer, Jess Richards, and Bob Meier, and Remarks from Governor Tim Walz.  1 hr 23 mins.