Read this important notice prior to completing a DNR electronic licensing transaction.
Collection of Private Data
Your name, addresses, date of birth, and driver’s license number collected under Minnesota Statutes, section 97A to complete a Minnesota Department of Natural Resources (DNR) electronic licensing transaction are classified as private data under Minnesota Statutes, section 84.0874. You can refuse to provide this information, but without it, DNR cannot issue a license, pass, sticker, registration, or other electronic license transaction. The private data may be released to law enforcement, individuals whose work assignment requires access, and persons authorized by state or federal law or pursuant to a court order, or by your written consent. In addition, private data, other than your driver’s license number, may also be released to a government entity and for natural resource management purposes, including recruitment, retention, and training certification and verification.
Collection of Social Security Numbers
Federal and state laws require the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources (DNR) to collect your Social Security Number (SSN) when purchasing a DNR game and fish license. The federal law is Title IV-D of the Social Security Act, U.S.C., Title 42, section 666(a) 13. The state law is Minnesota Statutes, section 97A.482. Your SSN is private data under the Federal Privacy Act, 1974 and Minnesota Statutes, section 13.355. If you apply for a DNR license or registration and you do not have a SSN you must give us a certification that you do not have a SSN. If you do not give us your SSN or a certification, DNR cannot issue your license. The DNR is required to provide your SSN or certification to the Minnesota Department of Human Services for child support enforcement purposes. Others who may have access to your SSN include individuals whose work assignment require access and persons authorized by state or federal law or pursuant to a court order, or by your written consent.
You can purchase hunting and fishing licenses, cross-country ski passes and snowmobile trail stickers, horse trail pass, and apply for hunting lotteries through the Electronic License System (ELS).
ELS gives you three options for buying licenses: online, phone or in person.
Duplicates are also available via any of the below purchasing methods.
You can purchase licenses by phone: 1-888-665-4236 (1-MN-LICENSE). Call any time of day or night, seven days a week. This toll-free call provides immediate licensing by way of a license identification number, which will be issued at the time of the call. The license identification number is valid until you receive an actual license in the mail. All purchases must be made by credit card. There is a 3% convenience fee for each phone transaction. For a license that is required to be mailed, the convenience fee is $1.50.
Search by county to find a location where you can buy hunting and fishing licenses and ski passes and apply for hunting lotteries in person.
ID number required - Residents
ELS requires that Minnesota residents age 21 and over furnish a current driver’s license or public safety identification number. Minnesota residents who do not have one of these identification numbers must obtain one before purchasing a hunting, fishing or other license from the DNR. If you applied for your Minnesota driver’s license or ID at least 60 days ago and have not received the card, please contact the license center at 651-297-1230 or 877-348-0498 to have a resident record created.