Lower St. Croix National Scenic Riverway Program

Frozen river in the forground with colorful trees on the shoreline in the background. Photo courtesy of Wild Rivers Conservancy

Click to enlarge

thumbnail of sample_b

The Lower St. Croix National Scenic Riverway includes the lower 52 miles of the St. Croix River extending between Taylors Falls, Minnesota and the confluence with the Mississippi River. The Lower St. Croix was added to the National Wild & Scenic Rivers Program by Congress in 1972.

The Saint Croix River has remarkable scenic characteristics, and may be the most species-rich waterbody in the Upper Mississippi River basin (111 fish and 41 mussel species documented). It has exceptional water quality and is an outstanding fishery.

The management strategy is to accommodate for “limited, planned, development that is consistent with the historic character of the communities” (Cooperative Management Plan, 2002). The river’s close proximity to the Twin Cities metro area make it continuously vulnerable to land use development and recreational impacts.


Land Use Regulations and Administration

Other Resources

Boating and Canoeing


  • Matt Bauman, Central Office LSCR Program Lead, 651-259-5710
  • Dan Scollan, Washington County Area Hydrologist, 651-259-5732
  • Craig Wills, Chisago County Area Hydrologist, 763-284-7221