News release: Reg Flag Warning issued for extreme fire risk

April 6, 2024

The National Weather Service has issued a Red Flag Warning for 32 counties along the western border, west central, and southwest Minnesota, effective Saturday, April 6 from 1:00 p.m. through 7:00 p.m. due to extreme fire risk conditions.

Affected counties include Becker, Big Stone, Brown, Chippewa, Clay, Cottonwood, Douglas, Grant, Jackson, Kandiyohi, Kittson, Lac Qui Parle, Lincoln, Lyon, Marshall, Martin, Murray, Nobles, Norman, Pipestone, Polk, Pope, Redwood, Renville, Rock, Stevens, Swift, Traverse, Wadena, Watonwan, Wilkin, and Yellow Medicine.

A Red Flag Warning means fires can spread quickly and easily progress out of control under the predicted weather conditions, including strong wind and low relative humidity levels. Residents should not burn in those counties where a Red Flag Warning is in effect and should check any recent burning they may have done to ensure the fire is completely out. The DNR will not activate open burning permits for large vegetative debris burning during the Red Flag Warning, and campfires are discouraged.

"Fine fuels, such as grass and small twigs, can dry out quickly when it's warm and the relative humidity is low," said Karen Harrison, DNR wildfire prevention specialist. “These fine fuels can easily ignite and start a wildfire that spreads quickly in windy conditions”.

Red Flag Warnings are evolving situations. Visit the National Weather Service for updates.

For more information and daily updates on current fire risk and open burning restrictions, visit the statewide fire danger and burning restrictions page of the DNR website. To receive email updates on current wildfire risk and open burning restrictions in Minnesota text “FIRE” to 66468.

Back to top