Floodplain Training and Education

2022 Training Dates

One-day trainings are normally offered at a few locations around the state during winter (January to March) and in the fall (September to November). Due to restrictions over the past two years, our trainings were transitioned to a series of one hour virtual sessions.

A variety of 19 virtual one-hour trainings were held March-early May, 2021, and were well received.

Winter 2022 Virtual Training Dates

  • 1/5/2022 (Wed), 9:30-10:30 am: Floodplain Management Basics Register
  • 1/10/2022 (Mon), 1-2 pm: FEMA Map Basics (including Letters of Map Change) Register
  • 1/12/2022 (Wed), 9:30-10:30 am: Floodplain Web-based Maps & Tools Register
  • 1/19/2022 (Wed), 9:30-10:30 am: Shoreland Management Basics Register
  • 1/24/2022 (Mon), 1-2 pm: Floodplain Administration 101 Register
  • 1/31/2022 (Mon), 1-2 pm: Dealing with Zone As Register
  • 2/2/2022 (Wed), 9:30-10:30 am: Nonconformities Register
  • 2/7/2022 (Mon), 1-2 pm: Shoreland Higher Standards Register
  • 2/9/2022 (Wed), 9:30-10:30 am: Variances - Shoreland Emphasis Register
  • 2/14/2022 (Mon), 1-2 pm: FEMA Letters of Map Change Register
  • 2/16/2022 (Wed), 9:30-10:30 am: Floodplain Higher Standards Register
  • 2/23/2022 (Wed), 9:30-10:30 am: Floodplain Administration 201 (CUPs, Floodproofing, Variances) Register
  • 2/28/2022 (Mon), 1-2 pm: Flood Insurance Basics (including Risk Rating 2.0) Register
  • 3/2/2022 (Wed), 9:30-10:30 am: Minnesota's New State Floodplain Management Model Ordinance & Rollout Register
  • 3/7/2022 (Mon), 1-2 pm: Hydroclimatic Changes Affecting Minnesota’s Water-Related Resources Register
  • 3/9/2022 (Wed), 9:30-10:30 am: Substantial Damage Determinations & Post Flood Responsibilities for Local Floodplain Managers Register

For more information, please contact [email protected] or:

Ceil Strauss, MN DNR State Floodplain Manager

Dan Petrik, MN DNR Shoreland & River Programs Manager

Minnesota Association of Floodplain Managers (MnAFPM) Annual Conference

The 2021 annual conference was Nov. 3-5, 2021. The in-person conference was co-hosted with Wisconsin Association for Floodplain, Stormwater, and Coastal Management at the LaCrosse Center in LaCrosse, WI.

Please look for more information - including details on the 2022 annual conference - on the Minnesota Association of Floodplain Managers website

Water Talk Newsletter

The Water Talk Newsletter is published quarterly and features updates on program news, funding, projects, events, and learning resources for local governments and others involved in floodplain and shoreland management.


Sign up for updates