Wild and Scenic River - Land Use Management Program

kettle river panorama


Purpose and regulatory background

Minnesota has designated six wild and scenic river districts under Minnesota’s Wilds and Scenic River Act. Local governments regulate land development in these districts through local zoning.

Learn more »


house on lakeshore

Property owner information

Land use and activities must comply with local government zoning standards and terms of scenic easements, if any. Learn about river stewardship and answers to frequently asked questions.

Learn more »


graphic map image

Local zoning information

Local governments administer Wild and Scenic River District regulations are responsible for adopting and administering zoning ordinances. Learn how to administer Wild and Scenic River zoning consistent with state rules.

Learn more »


Back to top