Natural Heritage Advisory Committee

Commissioner's Advisory Committee exploring Swedes Forest SNA

Recruiting New NHAC Members!

The DNR is seeking applications from individuals interested in serving on the Natural Heritage Advisory Committee (NHAC). Questions in the brief application reflect the DNR’s desire to have a well-rounded Committee representing all Minnesota’s communities and relationships to our outstanding natural heritage.

Applicants need to be Minnesota residents and willing to make a three-year commitment. Members are expected to participate in five meetings and one field trip each year. Meetings are typically held in St. Paul or virtually; remote participation of in-person meetings is an option and travel mileage for meeting attendance can be reimbursed.

If you are interested in becoming a member, start your application online now by clicking this link: APPLY TODAY. Deadline is Monday, October 17, 2022.

Thank you for considering this unique and important opportunity!

The Commissioner's Natural Heritage Advisory Committee advises Minnesota Department of Natural Resources programs on issues related to sustaining the state's natural heritage and biological diversity. Minnesota's natural heritage consists of its native prairies, forests, and wetlands and the native plants and animals that live here. The Committee is a citizen voice for protecting high quality natural resources and integrating conservation of these resources.

This appointed Committee makes recommendations to these Minnesota Department of Natural Resources programs:

The Committee provides recommendations concerning:

  • Biological diversity
  • Management of rare resources
  • Research opportunities
  • Communications and outreach

Commissioner's Natural Heritage Advisory Committee Charter 

Commissioner's Advisory Committee on Natural Heritage members on a field trip


The Commissioner's Natural Heritage Advisory Committee was first established in 1966 by Commissioner of Conservation, Clarence Prout. The fifteen member committee first met on September 23, 1966. The Commissioner's Advisory Committee initially was charged with recommending:

  • policies and criteria for the selection and management of Scientific and Natural Areas,
  • a comprehensive long range plan for Natural Areas,
  • a research program pertaining to Natural Areas,
  • persons to serve on the Committee,
  • and to serve as a consulting board to the Commissioner on matters related to Natural Areas.

The Committee was the driving force behind legislation passed in 1969 for the establishment of state natural areas. The role of the Committee was expanded in February 1984 to include providing advice to the Natural Heritage and Nongame Wildlife programs. This recommendation came from the Committee and the Legislative Commission on Minnesota Resources.



Members of Committee must have expertise or interest in sustaining the natural heritage of Minnesota - its native prairies, forests, and wetlands and the native plants and animals that live here. Persons are sought who have knowledge, demonstrated dedication to and/or experience related to natural area systems, conservation biology, ecology, environmental education, natural resource management, or protection of Minnesota's rare species, natural communities, geology, and other components of natural diversity. Appointed members of Committee may not be current DNR employees.



The Committee comprises 13-17 citizen members who are eligible to serve up to two, three-year terms. Committee members receive no compensation for their voluntary services except that they are eligible for reimbursement for travel.

Current committee membership:

  • Alyssa Bloss, Chair, Carlton
  • Kelly Barrett, Talmoon
  • Cate Belleveau, Puposky
  • Tom Casey, Mound
  • Davis Harder, Mountain Lake
  • Kathryn Keller-Miller, Minneapolis
  • Jaxon Lane, White Bear Lake
  • Douglas McArthur, Waubun
  • John Pearson, Saint Paul
  • Sara Reagan, Canby
  • Ryan Rothstein, Richmond
  • Angela Smith, Brooklyn Center
  • Christopher Smith, Lake Saint Croix Beach
  • Jeanette Eller Watland, Pierz
  • Breanna Wheeler, Northfield
  • Keng Yang, Champlin

Meeting Schedule

Meetings are typically held on the first Wednesday of every other month. Most meetings are held at the DNR Central Office, 500 Lafayette Road in Saint Paul from 10:30 am to about 2:30-3:00 pm. One or more meetings a year may be a field review and could be scheduled at a different time.

Upcoming Meetings