Lands and Minerals Division Regional Operations

The Lands and Minerals Regional Operations Section

  • Serves DNR resource managers, counties, local governments, companies, and citizens in processing leases, utility licenses, easements, salesreviews for tax-forfeited land transactions, land exchanges, trespass issues, appraisals and appraisal review, land value establishments, and mineral management and reclamation efforts;
  • Provides technical assistance for state land acquisition projects;
  • Provides leadership and facilitation for long range regional land management planning by participating in the DNR Regional Management Teams (RMTs) and regional acquisition committees;
  • Represents the Division as the point of contact in each region in directing, coordinating, and monitoring land transactions and mineral resource management efforts.


General map showing locations of regional operations contacts for Lands and Minerals

For more information, please contact the Regional Operations Supervisor or Coordinator in your region of the state, using the accompanying map and table.
Click on map for a full-size version

Region 1 - Northwest Minnesota

2115 Birchmont Beach Rd, NE
Bemidji, MN 56601


Cheryl Kelley-Dobie
Regional Operations Supervisor

Counties in Region 1
Becker, Beltrami, Cass, Clay, Clearwater, Douglas, Grant, Hubbard, Kittson, Lake of the Woods, Mahnomen, Marshall, Norman, Ottertail, Pennington, Polk, Pope, Red Lake, Roseau, Stevens, Traverse, Wadena, Wilkin

Region 2 - Northeast Minnesota

1201 East Highway 2
Grand Rapids, MN 55744

Joe Rokala
Regional Operations Supervisor

Counties in Region 2
Aitkin, Carlton, Cook, Crow Wing, Itasca, Koochiching, Lake, Pine, Saint Louis

Region 2 Contacts


Karen Tamminen, Realty Specialist

Land acquisitions

Karen Tamminen, Realty Specialist

Leases (new and renewal/surface)

Amy Marrier, Senior Realty Specialist

Leases (earthen materials)

Nicholas Borchardt, Aggregate Leasing Specialist

Leases (minerals)

Hibbing Lands and Minerals Division Office, 218-231-8484

Tax-forfeited land sales (public inquiries)

Contact the county auditor or land commissioner

Tax-forfeited land sale reviews (county list)

Heather Lofstuen, Senior Realty Specialist

Utility crossing licenses

Angela Means, Realty Specialist

Region 3 - Central Minnesota

1200 Warner Road
St. Paul, MN 55106

Martha Vickery
Regional Operations Coordinator

Counties in Region 3
Anoka, Benton, Carver, Chisago, Dakota, Fillmore, Goodhue, Hennepin, Houston, Isanti, Kanabec, Mille Lacs, Morrison, Olmsted, Ramsey, Scott, Sherburne, Stearns, Todd, Wabasha, Washington, Winona, Wright

Region 4 - Southern Minnesota

21371 State Hwy 15
New Ulm, MN 56073-5228

Benjamin J. Schaefer
Regional Operations Coordinator

Counties in Region 4
Big Stone, Blue Earth, Brown, Chippewa, Cottonwood, Dodge, Faribault, Freeborn, Jackson, Kandiyohi, Lac qui Parle, Le Sueur, Lincoln, Lyon, Martin, McLeod, Meeker, Mower, Murray, Nicollet, Nobles, Pipestone, Redwood, Renville, Rice, Rock, Sibley, Steele, Swift, Waseca, Watonwan, Yellow Medicine

Back to top