Chronic wasting disease management

Chronic wasting disease, or CWD, is a fatal neurological disease that affects cervids, including white-tailed deer. It is found globally and in about half of the states in the U.S. CWD remains relatively rare in Minnesota at this time, but is a concern as there is currently no known cure. The DNR is working to limit its spread. Learn more about the disease.

Map of portion of Minnesota showing Fall 2020 CWD sampling areas in north-central, west-central, east-central, south metro and southeast Minnesota.

Changes for 2020 hunting season

CWD testing will be voluntary for all disease zones and surveillance areas. Carcass movement restrictions are still in place in these areas.

Find out more in the 2020 Minnesota Hunting & Trapping Regulations book. Additional details will be posted on this webpage closer to the season.

View updates

2020 season regulations available

Read about new changes for the deer hunting season and download the regulations book.

Expanded feeding bans

Learn more about current deer feeding and attractant bans.

What hunters need to know

A deer herd in a field in southeast Minnesota.


What we're doing

A whitetail buck along a very colorful tree line at sunrise on a late Autumn morning.



What you can do

Hunters dressed in blaze orange walking in November.



Learn more

Close-up on white-tailed deer that looks out over snow.