Deer permit areas

Wildlife managers use landscape features such as rivers and roads to divide Minnesota into 130 areas that have similar habitat, land uses, deer populations and deer hunter distribution. These deer permit areas enhance management by grouping similar characteristics on which management decisions are based within a specific area. Hunters often refer to these areas as DPAs. Areas that contain DPAs are labeled on the map as "series." Hunters tend to call these larger areas zones.

Areas changed in the northeast

Map showing boundaries of the landowner shooting zone in southeastern Minnesota. This area is larger than the established disease management zone.

Several deer permit area boundaries are changing with the start of the 2017 deer hunting season.

DPAs 181 & 182 – Cloquet area

These changes simplify boundaries and accommodate changes to legal descriptions of properties in the Cloquet area.

Maps of changes

DPA 181 • DPA 182

DPAs 117, 118, 119, 126, 130, 131, 132, 133, 176, 177, 178 – moose range

In northeast Minnesota's primary moose range, deer permit area boundaries are being realigned to better define deer management and population goals.

Within primary moose range, deer will be managed at lower but stable densities as recommended by the 2014 deer population goal setting public advisory committee and the 2011 moose management plan. Outside of primary moose range, deer will be managed for higher densities.

Maps of changes

DPA 117 • DPA 118 • DPA 119 • DPA 126 • DPA 130 • DPA 131 • DPA 132 • DPA 133 • DPA 176 • DPA 177 • DPA 178

Why these changes

Ongoing research has strengthened the understanding of disease and parasite transmission from deer to moose. Deer are the primary host which transmit fatal brain worm and liver fluke infestations to moose. Managing deer at lower, but stable numbers in primary moose range will reduce disease transmission and allow for habitat and other management activities to benefit moose.